28-years of CAF Awards, from Abedi Pele to Mohamed Salah

African Player of the Year: from Abedi Pele to Mohamed Salah (Photo: CAF Online)

The annual CAF Awards enters its 28th edition and the Awards Gala will take place in the Egyptian resort city of Hurghada. It is the first time since 2010 that the event will be taking place in the North African country.

On Tuesday, 7 January 2020, the King of African football will be crowned at the Albatros Citadel, Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada amongst a list of three players, who have been worthy ambassadors of African football during the year under review. The trio includes Egyptian Mohamed Salah, winner for the past two editions, his Liverpool teammate Sadio Mane of Senegal and Algerian forward Riyad Mahrez.

Of the top three contenders, Mane is the only one yet to lay his hands on the most prestigious individual honour in African football, with Mahrez winning the accolade in 2016.

From 1992 to 2018, from Ghana’s Abedi Pele to Salah, 17 players have laid claim to the title of CAF Player of the Year.

Cameroonian Samuel Eto’o was the first to be crowned on four occasions – 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2010; a record since equalled by Ivorian Yaya Toure, who made it four wins on the trot (2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014).

Senegalese El Hadji Diouf also won the award twice in a row; 2001 and 2002 just as Salah, 2017 and 2018. However, the first player to have been named CAF African Player of the Year on two occasions was ex-Nigeria captain, Nwankwo Kanu, in 1996 and 1999. Ivorian icon Didier Drogba also completed a double in 2006 and 2009.

Read more on CAF Online


2 thoughts on “28-years of CAF Awards, from Abedi Pele to Mohamed Salah

Comments are closed.