Joseph Areruya of Rwanda named 2018 African Cyclist of the Year

Joseph Areruya of Rwanda (photo credit: S. Ngendahimana – The New Times)

Joseph Areruya of Rwanda and a member of the French side Delko Marseille Provence KTM, was named as the African Cyclist of the Year 2018 – becoming the first Rwandan to win the highly coveted prize since its inception in 2012.

Daryl Impey of  South Africa and Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier of Eritrea finished in second and third places respectively. 

It should be remembered that the 22-year old lost out to South African Louis Meintjes to finish second last year.

The annual award, which was first held in 2012, is meant to recognize African cyclists, who had successful performance in the year and to also help develop the sport in the continent.


1. Joseph Areruya (Rwanda)
2. Daryl Impey (South Africa)
3. Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier (Eritrea)
4. Merhawi Kudus (Eritrea)
5. Youcef Reguigui (Algeria)
6. Samuel Mugisha (Rwanda)
7. Azzedine Lagab (Algeria)
8. Salim Kipkemboi (Kenya)
9. Clint Hendrickx (South Africa)
10. Isiaka Cisse (Ivory Coast)
11. Henok Mulubrhan (Eritrea)
12. Stefan De Bod (South Africa)
13. Mathias Sorgho (Burkina Faso)
14. Bonaventure Uwizeyimana (Rwanda)
15. Clovis Kamzong (Cameroon)


2012 – Natnael Berhane (Eritrea)
2013 – Louis Meintjes (South Africa)
2014 – Mekseb Debesay (Eritrea)
2015 – Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eritrea)
2016 – Tesfom Okubamariam (Eritrea)
2017 – Louis Meintjes (South Africa)
2018 – Joseph Areruya (Rwanda)