Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church appoints 15 Bishops

Addis Ababa (FBC) – The Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church has appointed 15 new bishops to serve in various zones across the country.

Their appointments took place yesterday at the Holy Trinity Cathedral in the presence of Abune Mathias, Patriarch of the Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church.

Speaking on the occasion, the Patriarch urged the new bishops to fulfill their responsibilities in building ethical generation.

The 15 bishop are:

  1. Abba Yohannes – Bishop Yisak
  2. Abba Haile Michael – Bishop Michael
  3. 3, Abba Wolde-Medhin – Bishop Zena Markos
  4. Abba Woldehana – Bishop Thomas
  5. Abba Henock – Bishop Hiryakos
  6. Abba Zedengel –Bishop Melchizedek,
  7. Abba Berhane-Meskel Tedal – Bishop Diornisios
  8. Abba Gebrehiwot – Bishop Natnael
  9. Abba Gebre-Egziabher –Bishop Merha Christos
  10. Abba Samuel – Bishop Ermias
  11. Abba Philipos – Bishop Philipos
  12. Abba Berhane-Meskel – Bishop Barnabas
  13. Abba Zera-Dawit – Bishop Petros
  14. Dr. Abba Hailemariam – Bishop Aregawi
  15. Abba Tekle-Haimanot – Bishop Raphael