Orange AFCON 2015: Procedure for the draw

CAF Seeding PotsFollowing a meeting by the Organising Committee of the Africa Cup of Nations on Monday, 1 December 2014 in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea, the procedure for the draw of the final tournament of the 30th edition scheduled for 17 January to 8 February 2015 was adopted.

The 16 qualified teams were divided into four pots based on the CAF rankings established by their performances in the last three editions of the final tournament of the Africa Cup of Nations (2010, 2012, 2013) and the qualifiers of the 2012, 2013 and 2015 editions. The performance of the concerned teams during the qualifiers for the 2014 FIFA World Cup was also taken into account.

Pot 1: Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Cote d’Ivoire, Zambia

Pot 2: Burkina Faso, Mali, Tunisia, Algeria

Pot 3: Cape Verde, South Africa, Cameroon, Gabon

Pot 4: Guinea, Senegal, DR Congo, Congo

Pot 1 includes the top seeds and hosts Equatorial Guinea will be accorded the position A1.

The first part of the draw will be to designate the groups for the other top seeds; Ghana, Côte d’Ivoire and Zambia. The balls containing the names of the countries will be placed in a pot and indexes B1, C1, D1 in another pot.

The second stage will see the drawing of teams from pot 4 with the first to be drawn designated the position A4, B4 and so on.

The operation will be repeated identically for the other pots.