Ethiopia Super Cup: St. George vs Ethiopian Coffee

Addis Ababa – The 2010/11 Ethiopia Super Cup first leg match featuring Premier League champions Ethiopian Coffee and Ethiopia Cup winner St. George FC will take place here on Saturday, November 19th.

The two teams will meet for the second leg match on Tuesday. November 22nd.

The Ethiopia Super Cup is an annual soccer match between the reigning Ethiopia Premier League champion and the winner of the Ethiopia Cup (FA Cup).

St. George Domination

St. George has dominated the Ethiopia Super Cup collecting 12 trophies compare to 4 of their arch rivals Ethiopian Coffee since the competition first took place in 1985.

In fact, St. George known then as Addis Ababa Bira (Brewery) took the first 3 titles and repeated the treble in 1994,95 & 96 as St. George. The team has since then won the double on two occasions (2002-2003 & 2005-2006.

St. George defeated Dedebit FC 3-2 to clinch its 12th Ethiopia Super Cup at the Abebe Bikila Stadium here last year.

Ethiopian Coffee first won the title for the first time in 1988 when the team was known then as Bunna Gebeya. It will be another 9 years before the Coffeemen clinched their second trophy in 1997, this time as Ethiopian Bunna (Ethiopian Coffee in English).

The 2000 & 2008 competitions had special meanings for Coffee as they defeated their arch nemesis St. George to clinch their trophies.

The outcome of this year’s competition will be decided on Tuesday.


List of Ethiopia Super Cup Winners

1985 Brewery (Addis Abeba)

1986 Brewery (Addis Abeba)

1987 Brewery (Addis Abeba)

1988 Bunna Gebeya (Addis Abeba)

1989  no competition

1990 Brewery (Addis Abeba)

1991 no competition

1992 no competition

1993 Mebrat Hail (Addis Abeba)

1994 St. George (Addis Abeba)

1995 St. George (Addis Abeba)

1996 St. George (Addis Abeba)

1997 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)

1998 Mebrat Hail (Addis Abeba)

1999 no competition (St. George won double)

2000 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    1-1 2-1 St. George (Addis Abeba)

2001 Mebrat Hail (Addis Abeba)       4-1 1-2 St. George (Addis Abeba)

2002 St. George (Addis Abeba)         2-1 1-0 Medhin (Addis Abeba)

2003 St. George (Addis Abeba)         1-0 5-0 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)

2004 Bankoch (Addis Abeba)            2-1 agg Awassa Kenema (Awassa)

2005 St. George (Addis Abeba)         2-0 2-0 Awassa Kenema (Awassa)

2006 St. George (Addis Ababa)         0-0 6-0 Mekelakeya (Addis Abeba)

2007 no competition (?)

2008 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba)    2-1 awd St. George (Addis Abeba)

2009 St. George (Addis Ababa)         3-2     Dedebit FC (Addis Ababa)

2010 St. George (Addis Ababa)          -       Ethiopian Coffee (Addis Ababa)


Number of Titles

12 St. George (Addis Abeba; includes 3 as Addis Ababa Bira “Brewery”)

4 Ethiopian Bunna (Addis Abeba; includes 1 as Bunna Gebeya)

3 Mebrat Hail “EEPCO” (Addis Abeba)

1 Bankoch (Addis Abeba)