Bayelign Teshager of Ethiopia wins 2020 Los Angeles Marathon

2020 Los Angeles Marathon winners
Bayelign Teshager of Ethiopia and Margaret Muriuki of Kenya (photo credit: LA Marathon)

Los Angeles, California (USA) – 20-year-old Bayelign Teshager of Ethiopia won the 2020 Los Angeles Marathon men’s category in a time of 2:08:26 here today. 

Teshager, who was making his marathon debut, took over in the last mile to win the race. John Lagat of Kenya finished second 17 seconds behind.

Women’s Race

Margaret Muriuki of Kenya won the women’s race after she led from start to finish, ending with a personal-best time of 2:29:27. 

Muriuki, 33, pulled away from Ethiopia’s Almaz egede with seven miles left to win by about a three-minute margin. It marked her second marathon win in three months after she won at Honolulu in December.

Men’s Results
1. Bayelign Teshager – Ethiopia (2:08:26)
2. John Lagat (2:08:43)
3. Wilson Kwambai Chebet (2:09:16)
4. Michael Chege (2:09:29)
5. Lani Rutto (2:10:06)

Women’s Results
1. Margaret Muriuki (2:29:27)
2. Almaz Negede – Ethiopia (2:32:28)
3. Jane Kibii (2:36:04)
4. Emily Gallin (2:36:04)
5. Grace Gonzales (2:50:08)