Ethiopia to take part in La Tropicale Amissa Bongo Cycling Race


The Ethiopian national cycling team will take part in the 2019 La Tropicale Amissa Bongo Cycling race, which will be held in Gabon from January 21-27, 2019. 

The annual event, which was held for the first time in 2006, is a road race and it is part of the UCI Africa Tour.  

The seven-stage race will cover a total of 860 kilometers, this time visiting Equatorial Guinea via Cameroon and a total of 15 teams have been confirmed to compete – including 10 African national teams and five professional teams.

La Tropicale Amissa Bongo 2019 roadmap

January 21: Stage 1: Bongoville – Moanda

January 22: Stage 2: Franceville – Okondja

January 23: Stage 3: Léconi – Franceville

January 24: Stage 4: Mitzic – Oyem

January 25: Stage 5: Bitam – Mongomo (Equatorial Guinea)

January 26: Stage 6: Bitam – Oyem

January 27: Stage 7: Nkok – Libreville

Full 15-team Peloton

National Teams: Rwanda, Gabon, Morocco, Eritrea, Mauritius, Ethiopia, Cote d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Algeria, Cameroon.

Professional TeamsDirect Energie (France), Vital Concept-B&B Hotels (France), Adroni Giocatolli (Italy), Arkea-Samsic (France) and Pro Touch (South Africa).

Past Winners

French cyclists have dominated the race finishing first in 9 of the 13 editions. Natnael Berhane of Eritrea broke the French domination when he became the African cyclist to win the race in 2014. He was followed by Rafaâ Chtioui of Tunisia (2015) and Joseph Areruya of Rwanda last year. 

2006 Finland Jussi Veikkanen (FIN) Française des Jeux
2007 France Frédéric Guesdon (FRA) Française des Jeux
2008 France Lilian Jégou (FRA) Française des Jeux
2009 France Matthieu Ladagnous (FRA) Française des Jeux
2010 France Anthony Charteau (FRA) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
2011 France Anthony Charteau (FRA) Team Europcar
2012 France Anthony Charteau (FRA) Team Europcar
2013 France Yohann Gène (FRA) Team Europcar
2014 Eritrea Natnael Berhane (ERI) Team Europcar
2015 Tunisia Rafaâ Chtioui (TUN) Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team–Al Ahli Club
2016 France Adrien Petit (FRA) Direct Énergie
2017 France Yohann Gène (FRA) Direct Énergie
2018 Rwanda Joseph Areruya (RWA) Rwanda (national team)