Ethiopia and Eritrea Sign Declaration of Peace and Friendship

Ethiopia and Eritrea have signed a Joint Declaration of Peace and Friendship today.

The agreement, which specifies five pillars, was signed this morning at State House by Prime Minister Dr Abiy Ahmed of Ethiopia and President Isaias Afwerki of Eritrea.

According to Yemane G. Meskel, Eritrea’s Information Minister, the Joint Declaration states, inter alia,

i) State of war that existed between the two countries has come to an end. A new era of peace and friendship has been ushered;

ii) Both countries will work to promote close cooperation in political, economic, social, cultural and security areas.

iii) Transport, trade and telecommunication ties will be resumed; diplomatic ties and activities renewed;

iv) Border decision will be implemented;

v) Both countries will work together to guarantee regional peace, development and cooperation

Yesterday, Prime Minister Dr Abiy said, “enough of war and news of imminent wars.”

President Isaias on his part said, “the tumultuous welcome accorded to Prime Minister Dr Abiy in Asmara underscores how much the people of Eritrea cherish peace.”

Source: Fana Broadcasting