Total CAF Champions League: 19 countries represented at group stage

St George FC  of Ethiopia (photo: Romano Laurence 

Ahead of the draw of the group phase of the Total CAF Champions League 2017 and Total CAF Confederation Cup on Wednesday, 26 April 2017 in Cairo, Egypt, the qualified clubs are drawn from 19 countries. 

Tunisia leads the pack with the maximum representation in the two competitions, two each and four in all. Since 1997, Tunisian clubs have won seven continental club championships (2 CAF Champions League and 5 CAF Confederation Cup), and have been a constant feature at this stage. Their representatives are Esperance and Etoile du Sahel for the CAF Champions League, and the pair of Club Africain and CS Sfaxien in the CAF Confederation Cup. 

Despite security concerns compelling clubs to play behind closed doors since 2011, Egyptian clubs continue to be a force to reckon with. Egypt has three clubs, after El Masry failed in their bid to become the fourth. Since the launch of the group phase in 1997, Egypt has seven CAF Champions League title, six for Al Ahly and one for rivals, Zamalek. Ahly also won the CAF Confederation Cup in 2014. Alexandria-based Smouha complete the Egyptian trio. 

Also with three clubs each is South Africa, with African champions, Mamelodi Sundowns looking set to defend their title in the CAF Champions League. Platinum Stars and Supersport United are the others and will play in the second-tier continental club championship. 

Sudan equally has three clubs with debutants and rising force Hilal Obeid, the surprise packets in the CAF Confederation Cup. Traditional giants, El Merreikh and El Hilal are in the CAF Champions League. 

Algeria, DR Congo, Morocco and Zambia have a club each in the two competitions. 

One-club countries include Swaziland, who for the time has representation at the mini-league stage of a major continental championship in Mbabane Swallows in the CAF Confederation Cup. 

Other countries represented are Algeria, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, Libya, Mozambique, Nigeria, Uganda and Zimbabwe. 

Country CAF Champions League CAF Confederation Cup
Tunisia Esperance, Etoile du Sahel Club Africain, CS Sfaxien
South Africa Mamelodi Sundowns Platinum Stars, SuperSport United
Egypt Al Ahly, Zamalek Smouha
Sudan El Hilal, El Merreikh Hilal Obeid
Algeria USM Alger MC Alger
Morocco Wydad Athletic Club FUS Rabat
DR Congo AS Vita Club TP Mazembe
Cameroon Coton Sport  
Zambia Zanaco Zesco United
Angola   Recreativo do Libolo
Ethiopia Saint George  
Gabon   CF Mounana
Guinea   Horoya AC
Libya Ahli Tripoli  
Mozambique Ferroviario Beira  
Nigeria   Rivers United
Uganda   Kampala City Council Authority
Swaziland   Mababane Swallows
Zimbabwe Caps United  

Source: CAF