Asrat Megersa recalled, Natnael Zeleke missing as Ethiopia coach Sahle calls up 44 in provisional squad to prepare for Afcon

WaliaAddis Ababa – Ethiopia Walia Ibex new coach former International Yohannes Sahle has named a provisional squad consisting of 44 locally based players that will embark on preparations ahead of Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

Sahle has called up a mixture of veteran experienced and young players whom he intends to work with before dropping the number to 23 with inclusion of the foreign based players.

The most notable absentee in the team is youngster Natnael Zeleke who was a revelation during the 2015 Afcon qualifiers discovered by Sahle’s predecessor Mariano Barreto as he has also been influential for St.George.

Sahle has recalled midfielder Asrat Megersa who was out in the cold but played a pivotal role in the road to Afcon 2013 and World Cup 2014 qualifers. Veteran goal keeper Sesay Bancha was also excluded from the team and most of the players who featured in 2013/2014 with Adane Girma who recently retired from International football also missing from the list as per his wish.

The squad that is a blend of experience and youth is expected to start preparations immediately after the Ethiopian premier league ended last week .


Goalkeepers: Tarik Getnet(Dedebit), Jemal Tasew (Mekelakeya), Abel Mamo(Murger) and Lealem Birhanu(Sidama Bunna).

Defenders:  Seyoum Tesfaye, Aschlew Tameme and Tekalegn Dejene(Dedebit) Abdulkarim Mohammed and Moges Tadese(Sidama Bunna), Zekarias Tuji and Salhadin Bargecho(St.George) , Tedros Bekele and.Tesfaye Bekele(Mekelakeya), Tagel Abebe, and Berket Bogale(Arba Minch), Surafel Getachew(Murger), Ephrem Wondwosen(Ethiopia Bunna), Adisu Tesfaye(Wolayta Dicha), Mujed Kasim and Girma Bekele(Hawassa Kenema).

Wingers: Ramkel Lok(Ethio Electric),  Bahailu Assefa(St.George), Tadele Mengesha(Dedebit), Takele Alemayehu(Adama Kenema), Aschalew Girma(Ethiopia Buna), Gaddisa Mebrate(Hawassa Kenema), Ephrew Ashamo and Sisaye Tolla(Nigd Bank).

Midfielders:  Biruk Kalbore(Wolyata Dicha), Asrat Megersa(Dashen), Gatoch Panom(Ethiopia Bunna), Samson Tilahun(Dedebit), Ashenafi Shiberu(Wolayta Dicha), Mentesnot Adane(St.George), Tadesse Solomon(Hawassa Kenema) and Ferew Solomon(Mekelakeya).

Strikers: Baye Gezahegn(Wolayta Dicha), Biniyam Assefa(Ethiopia Bunna), Berket Yesehak(Dedebit), Mulualem Tilahun(Mekelakeya),Yonatan Kebede(Adama), Ephrem Kere(Murger) and Alazar Fasika.