Imane Merga and Hiwot Ayalew win in Atapuerca

Hiwot ayalewThe 10th ‘Cross Internacional de Atapuerca’ on Sunday (17) marked the second leg of the IAAF Cross Country Permit Series 2013/14. Held in gruelling conditions – cold, strong winds and heavy rain – the event witnessed victories from 2011 World Cross Country Championships winner Imane Merga of Ethiopia and his compatriot Hiwot Ayalew, both runners having won silver medals at this year’s Championships in Bydgoszcz.

Both stars retaining their titles from last year.

Merga out-sprinted Kenya’s Emmanuel Bett and Eritrea’a Teklemariam Medhin over the closing 300 metres to grab a one-second victory while Ayalew broke away from Linet Masai some 600m from the finish to capture a convincing win over the Kenyan.


Men (9.8km)
1 Imane Merga (ETH) 28:59
2 Emmanuel Bett (KEN) 29:00
3 Teklemariam Medhin (ERI) 29:01
4 Timothy Toroitich (UGA) 29:04
5 Samuel Tsegay (ERI) 29:06
6 Japhet Korir (KEN) 29:07
7 Alemayehu Bezabeh (ESP) 29:16
8 Goitom Kifle (ERI) 29:17
9 Mohamed Marhum (ESP) 29:20
10 Javier Guerra (ESP) 29:27

Women (7.8km)
1 Hiwot Ayalew (ETH) 26:11 

2 Linet Masai (KEN) 26:20
3 Mercy Cherono (KEN) 26:25
4 Janet Kisa (KEN) 26:35
5 Marta Tigabea (ETH) 26:55
6 Iris Fuentes-Pila (ESP) 27:02
7 Elena Romagnolo (ITA) 27:04
8 Nadia Ejjafini (ITA) 27:07
9 Malika Asahssah (MAR) 27:10
10 Diana Martín (ESP) 27:15

Read more