Ahmed Hassen & Mohamed Nagy of Al Ahly in African Footballer of the Year shortlist

Cairo, Egypt – Ahmed Hassan and Mohamed “Gedo” Nagy of Al Ahly FC of Egypt are among the 10 players who make up the list of the 2010 African Footballer of the Year award shortlist. The two are also the only African-based players.

Chelsea pair Didier Drogba and Salomon Kalou, as well as FIFA Ballon d’Or nominee Asamoah Gyan make the ten-man list, with Inter Milan forward Samuel Eto’o favourite to land the award after he won the Treble with the Nerazzurri last season.

Gyan is one of three Ghanaians who impressed so much at the World Cup, alongside ex-Portsmouth midfielder Kevin-Prince Boateng and Marseille’s Andre Ayew, who has been attracting interest from some of Europe’s elite.

Shortlist for African Footballer of the Year:

Ahmed Hassan (Egypt and Al-Ahly)
Andre Ayew (Ghana and Marseille)
Kevin-Prince Boateng (Ghana and AC Milan )
Madjid Bougherra (Algeria and Rangers)
Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast and Chelsea)
Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon and Inter Milan)
Mohamed ‘Gedo’ Nagy (Egypt and Al-Ahly)
Asamoah Gyan (Ghana and Sunderland)
Salomon Kalou (Ivory Coast and Chelsea)
Seydou Keita (Mali and Barcelona)