Molla and Teferi secure Ethiopian double in Atapuerca

Getaneh Tamire Molla wins at the Cross de Atapuerca (Fundación ANOC)

Ethiopia’s Getaneh Tamire Molla and Senberi Teferi captured respective close wins at the 14th Cross Internacional de Atapuerca, the opening race of this winter’s IAAF Cross Country Permit series, held on a pleasant and sunny Sunday (12).

While Teferi’s win was somewhat expected, Molla surprisingly beat some of the more favoured and better-known runners including the likes of world 5000m champion Muktar Edris and world U20 cross-country champion Jacob Kiplimo.

“It has been a surprise for me to defeat such a strong line-up today,” said Molla, who despite winning three national titles at 5000m and two national titles at cross country is still not as well-known as some of his compatriots. “I felt very good and managed to out-sprint Kiplimo at the end.”


Men (9km)
1 Getaneh Tamire Molla (ETH) 24:45
2 Jacob Kiplimo (UGA) 24:46
3 Aron Kifle (ERI) 24:54
4 Aweke Ayalew (BRN) 25:02
5 Imane Merga (ETH) 25:07
6 Muktar Edris (ETH) 25:11
7 Justus Soget (KEN) 25:12 
8 Yemane Haileselassie (ERI) 25:17 
9 Timothy Toroitich (UGA) 25:21 
10 Jairus Birech (KEN) 25:25

Women (8km)
1 Senbere Teferi (ETH) 25:21
2 Margaret Chelimo Kipkemboi (KEN) 25:21
3 Alice Aprot (KEN)  25:37
4 Trihas Gebre (ESP) 25:50
5 Fionnuala McCormack (IRL) 26:13 
6 Stephanie Twell (GBR) 26:21 
7 María José Pérez (ESP) 26:35 
8 Lily Partridge (GBR) 26:36 
9 Marta Pérez (ESP) 26:38 
10 Cavaline Nahimana (BUR) 26:38

Read full report at: