No Ethiopian among CAF Player of the Year Award Nominees


caf-player-of-the-yearEthiopia is one of the founders of the Confederation Africaine de Football (CAF) and football (soccer) remains the most popular sport in the country. However, the fact that there isn’t a single Ethiopian player named among the finalists for the CAF’s Player of the Year award is very discouraging.

The annual award is drawn into two groups with one given to players operating abroad and another for those based in Africa.

Gabon and Borussia Dortmund striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is in line to win his second award while Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure, a four-time winner and runner-up to Aubameyang last year, is not on the list.

List of players nominated for Caf’s 2016 African Player of the year award:

  • Ahmed Musa – Leicester City (England) and Nigeria
  • Andre Ayew – West Ham (England) and Ghana
  • Aymen Abdennour – Valencia (Spain) and Tunisia
  • Benjamin Mounkandjo – Lorient (France) and Cameroon
  • Cedric Bakambu – Villareal (Spain) and DR Congo
  • Dennis Onyango – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and Uganda
  • El Arabi Hillel Soudani – Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia) and Algeria
  • Eric Bailly – Manchester United (England) and Ivory Coast
  • Hakim Ziyech – Ajax (Netherlands) and Morocco
  • Islam Slimani – Leicester City (England) and Algeria
  • Itumeleng Khune – Kaizer Chiefs (South Africa) and South Africa
  • John Mikel Obi – Chelsea (England) and Nigeria
  • Kalidou Koulibaly – Napoli (Italy) and Senegal
  • Keegan Dolly – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and South Africa
  • Kelechi Iheanacho – Manchester City (England) and Nigeria
  • Khama Billiat – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and Zimbabwe
  • Mbwana Samatta – Genk (Belgium) and Tanzania
  • Mehdi Benatia – Juventus (Italy) and Morocco
  • Mohamed El Neny – Arsenal (England) and Egypt
  • Mohamed Salah – Roma (Italy) and Egypt
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Borussia Dortmund (Germany) and Gabon
  • Riyad Mahrez – Leicester City (England) and Algeria
  • Sadio Mane – Liverpool (England) and Senegal
  • Samuel Eto’o – Antalyaspor (Turkey) and Cameroon
  • Serge Aurier – PSG (France) and Ivory Coast
  • Victor Wanyama – Tottenham (England) and Kenya
  • Wahbi Khazri – Sunderland (England) and Tunisia
  • William Jebor – Wydad Casablanca (Morocco) and Liberia
  • Yannick Bolasie – Everton (England) and DR Congo
  • Yao Kouasi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ – Hebei Fortune (China) and Ivory Coast

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

  • Ali Gabr (Egypt & Zamalek)
  • Aymen Hefny (Egypt & Zamalek)
  • Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)
  • Bassem Morsi (Egypt & Zamalek)
  • Chisom Chikatara (Nigeria & Wydad Athletic Club)
  • Dennis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Elia Meschak (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  • Fabrice Nguessi Ondama (Congo & Wydad Athletic Club)
  • Hamza Lahmar (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)
  • Hlompho Kekana (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Idris Mbombo (DR Congo & Zesco United)
  • Itumeleng Khune (South Africa & Kaizer Chiefs)
  • Jackson Mwanza (Zambia & Zesco United)
  • Jesse Were (Kenya & Zesco United)
  • Joel Kimwaki (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  • Joyce Lomalisa (DR Congo & AS Vita)
  • Keegan Dolly (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Mfon Udon (Nigeria & Enyimba)
  • Morgan Betorangal (Chad & MO Bejaia)
  • Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe)
  • Reda Hajhouj (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
  • Salif Coulibaly (Mali & TP Mazembe)
  • William Jebor (Liberia & Wydad Athletic Club)
  • Yannick Zakri (Cote d’Ivoire & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Related News:


2 thoughts on “No Ethiopian among CAF Player of the Year Award Nominees

Comments are closed.