Sebastian Coe elected as Chairman of the Board of Diamond League

Press Release

Sebastian Coe (Getty Images)
                         Sebastian Coe (Getty Images)

IAAF President Sebastian Coe and fellow IAAF Council Member Anna Riccardi were unanimously elected by the General Assembly on Sunday (29) to become Board Members of the Diamond League AG, the company which owns and operates the IAAF Diamond League.

The General Assembly of the Diamond League AG, is composed of representatives of the IAAF and the 14 meeting organisations whose competitions make up the calendar of the IAAF Diamond League, Athletics’ top tier invitational circuit.

The Board is composed of six persons, three members represent the meetings and three represent the IAAF.

IAAF President Sebastian Coe becomes Chairman of the Board and Anna Riccardi is the second IAAF representative.

A third IAAF Board member will be proposed to the General Assembly ahead of its next meeting and full Board elections in March 2016. The three current representatives of the meetings on the Board are Patrick Magyar (SUI), Wilfried Meert (BEL) and Jean-Pierre Schoebel (MON).

During Sunday’s meeting the General Assembly agreed proposals to establish workshops to discuss the future development and format of the series.

This process is part of a wider strategic study of Athletics’ competition structure which will involve three newly formed Special Advisory Groups: One-Day Meetings, Competition Calendar and World Athletics Series Renovation.

IAAF President and Diamond League AG Chairman Sebastian Coe commented: “The IAAF Diamond League annually provides Athletics with a prominent global shop window. The 14 meeting series which runs from May to September offers fans the best international Athletics competition outside the IAAF World Championships and the Olympic Games. I am really looking forward to reviewing this top product with the meeting organisers who are our close partners in this series. Together we intend to take this popular invitational tour to the next level of sporting excellence and entertainment.”


Note: The IAAF Diamond League was created in March 2009, with the first season of competition taking place in 2010. The IAAF Diamond League is Athletics’ top invitational circuit, taking place from May to September each year in 14 cities across Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and the USA.

2016 Calendar of the IAAF Diamond League: