January 04, 2015 (Vatican City) –  Pope Francis named fifteen Archbishops and Bishops from thirteen countries who are to become Cardinals in mid-February, Vatican Radio announced on Sunday.

Among the new Cardinals is Archbishop Berhaneyesus Demerew Souraphiel of Addis Abeba, Ethiopia. Berhaneyesus Demerew Souraphiel was born on 14 July 1948 in Tchela Claka, near Harar in Ethiopia.

Archbishop Berhaneyesus Demerew Souraphiel

Archbishop Berhaneyesus Demerew Souraphiel

The list of fifteen Cardinals includes, Archbishop Dominique Mamberti, Prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura, Archbishiop Manuel José Macario do Nascimento Clemente, Patriarch of Lisbon (Portugal), Archbishop Berhaneyesus Demerew Souraphiel, C.M., of Addis Abeba (Ethiopia), Archbishop John Atcherley Dew of Wellington (New Zealand), Archbishop Edoardo Menichelli of Ancona-Osimo (Italy), Archbishop Pierre Nguyên Văn Nhon of Hà Nôi (Viêt Nam), Archbishop Alberto Suàrez Inda of Morelia (Mexico), Archbishop Charles Maung Bo, S.D.B., of Yangon (Myanmar), Archbishop Francis Xavier Kriengsak Kovithavanij of Bangkok (Thailand), Archbishop Francesco Montenegro of Agrigento (Italy), Archbishop Daniel Fernando Sturla Berhouet, S.D.B., of Montevideo (Uruguay), Archbishop Ricardo Blázquez Pérez of Vallodolid (Spain), Bishop José Luis Lacunza Maestrojuán, O.A.R., of David (Panamá), Bishop Arlindo Gomes Furtado, of Santiago de Cabo Verde (Archipelago of Cape Verde), Bishop Soane Patita Paini Mafi of Tonga (Island of Tonga)

In addition, the Holy Father announced that five retired Archbishops and Bishops “distinguished for their pastoral charity in the service of the Holy See and of the Church” would also be made Cardinals.

The five Cardinals are José de Jesús Pimiento Rodriguez, Archbishop Emeritus of Manizales, Archbishop Luigi De Magistris, Major Pro-Penitentiary Emeritus, Archbishop Karl-Joseph Rauber, Apostolic Nuncio, Luis Héctor Villaba, Archbishop Emeritus of Tucumán, Júlio Duarte Langa, Bishop Emeritus of Xai-Xai.

Source: caperi.com