Cristiano Ronaldo and PeleCristiano Ronaldo has won FIFA’s Ballon d’Or award for the first time, beating Lionel Messi and Franck Ribery to the coveted individual prize.

The 28-year-old Real Madrid forward was revealed as the winner at a glitzy ceremony in Zurich this evening and cried on stage when making his acceptance speech.

Portuguese international Ronaldo previously won the FIFA World Player of the Year prize in 2008 while at Manchester United, but since France Football‘s Ballon d’Or and the FIFA World Player of the Year were merged in 2010, he finished second to Messi in the last two years.

FIFA also announced its FIFPro World XI and it included four Barcelona players, three Bayern Munichplayers, two from Madrid and two from Paris Saint-Germain.

Former Bayern Munich boss Jupp Heynckes was named as Coach of the Year while the Puskas Award for best goal went to Sweden’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic for his long-range overhead kick against England.

The Women’s World Player of the Year award went to German goalkeeper Nadine Angerer.

Ballon d’Or: Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFPro World XI: Neuer; Alves, Thiago Silva, Ramos, Lahm; Xavi, Iniesta, Ribery; Ronaldo, Messi, Ibrahimovic

Coach of the Year: Jupp Heynckes

Puskas Award: Zlatan Ibrahimovic

For more information, please visit Sports Mole