All set for Orange CHAN 2014 finals draw

CHAN LogoThe stage is set for the draw for the 3rd Orange Africa Nations Championship (CHAN) final draw which will be held on Wednesday, 18th September at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo, Egypt.

Sixteen (16) teams including hosts South Africa will enter the draw to be conducted by CAF Secretary General, Hicham El Amrani at 12h30 GMT.

All the qualified teams with the exception of hosts South Africa, will be ranked based on their performances during the last two editions of the CHAN competition in 2009 (Cote d’Ivoire) and 2011 (Sudan).

The four seeded teams are South Africa , DR Congo , Ghana and Zimbabwe . Pot 2 is made up of Gabon, Mali, Libya and Uganda with Burkina Faso, Burundi, Ethiopia and Nigeria in Pot 3 whereas Congo, Mauritania, Morocco and Mozambique constitute Pot 4.

The ceremony will be graced by CAF President Issa Hayatou and members of the CAF Executive Committee and Chairman of the Organising Committee , Almamy Kabele. Also in attendance will be Chief Mwelo Nonkonyana, Board Chairman of the Local Organising Committee and Board members, Dr Oliphant, Dr Jordaan and Mr Mazibuko,  (LOC); Mvuzo Mbebe, Chief Executive Officer of the LOC; Kirsten Nematandani, President of South Africa Football Association (SAFA).

Ms Miriam Ramadwa the MEC for Sport,Arts & Culture, Cllr Freddy Greaver the Executive Mayor of City of Polokwane, Cllr Garin Cavanagh from City of Cape Town’s Mayoral Committee, Clr Maditaba Joyce Matsoetlane from the Mayoral Committee of Mangaung and Clr Monnapule Andries Moeng from also from Mangaung Mayoral Committee. Mr Philip Riley will represent the South African embassy in Egypt. There will aslo be representatives from the Host Cities and Provinces in attendance.

The draw will be shown on SABC, SuperSport, Al Jazeera, and on CAF YouTube channel.

The championship will kick off on 11th January and end on 1st February with Cape Town, Mangaung and Polokwane as the host cities.



You might also like More from author

Comments are closed.