Boston, MA – Tirunesh Dibaba and Meseret Defar of Ethiopia posted victories in their respective races at the 17th edition of New Balance Indoor Grand Prix here last night.

Dibaba won the women 2 Mile in 9:21.60, while Defar took first place in the 3,000m in 8:33.57.

The track meet, which is part of the USATF Visa Series, is held annually at the Reggie Lewis Track Facility at Roxbury Community College.

Rousing Welcome

It was a rousing welcome for Tirunesh Dibaba, who was competing on a track for the first time since August 2010 as she fought severe shin splints. The 2008 double Olympic Champion, who broke the 5000-meter World Record here in 2005 and was making her ninth appearance at the meet, had a reason for choosing the Reggie to host her comeback.

“Boston is my second home,” she said, after almost lapping the field in winning the 2 Mile in 9:21.60 and delighting the large Ethiopian contingent along the homestretch. Dibaba, 26, said she was happy with the result, given that she’s only been back training for two months and has been on a track just three times.

Decisive Victory for Defar

Rounding out the evening was a decisive victory by Meseret Defar, another Ethiopian superstar who has known great success at the Reggie. Defar handily won the women’s 3000 meters in 8:33.57; behind her, countrywoman Gotytom Gebreselassie won a rollicking duel for second over Morocco’s Siham Hilali, 8:46.01 to 8:46.17.

“I’m very pleased with my race today,” Defar said through a translator. “This is my first indoor race (of the year), I have practiced a lot for this race.” She continued: “I have raced very well, I believe.”

Men 3,000m

In the men’s 3000 meters, eight men broke 7:48. The field was still tightly packed when Caleb Ndiku of Kenya made his move with 7 laps remaining, passing reigning 1500-meter World Championships silver medalist Silas Kiplagat to take the lead. He would keep it. The 2010 World Junior Champion at both 1500 meters and Cross Country, 19-year-old Ndiku crossed the line in 7:38.29. Defending champion Dejen Gebremeskel, who last year won despite losing a shoe early in the race, was a close second in 7:38.97.

Women 2 Mile

1. Tirunesh Dibaba (Ethiopia) 9:21.60

2. Jackie Areson (USA) 9:51.81

3. Delilah Dicrescenzo (USA) 9:53.02

Women 3,000m

1. Meseret Defar (Ethiopia) 8:33.57

2. Gotytom Gebreselassie (Ethiopia) 8:46.01

3. Siham Hilali (Morocco) 8:46.17

Men’s 3,000m

1. Caleb Ndiku (Kenya) 7:38.29

2. Dejen Gebremeskel (Ethiopia) 7:38.97

3. Silas Kiplagat (Kenya) 7:41.02

4. Hagos Gebrehiwet (Ethiopia) 7:44.08