Addis Ababa –Premier League’s defending champions St. George FC will represent Ethiopia in the CECAFA Kagame Clubs Cup, which will be held in Tanzania from June 25 till July 9, 2011.

The Saints are drawn in Group C with APR of Rwanda, Ulinzi Stars of Kenya and Ports FC from Djibouti.

The tournament was first slated to be held in Sudan but was moved to Tanzania because El Mereikh Group, the main sponsors in Sudan, failed to agree with the country’s Football Federation Federation whom they felt were not ready to host the tourney, according to CECAFA Secretary General Nichloas Musonye.

Twelve teams will battle it out in the Kagame Cup which will be in three groups. “This year we will not have guest teams since it will mean a squeeze of budget for us,” observed Musonye. Liberty of Ghana and Al Ahly had requested and confirmed their participation before their efforts were turned down in the last minute.

Eritrea will also sit out of the competition since air travel from the Horn of Africa state has been hampered by the ashes emanating from volcanic eruptions experienced last week.

He added that the matches from the quarterfinal stage will be aired live on Supersport. “We are also in the process of finalizing a five year deal with Tanzania Breweries Limited which will see them sponsor our activities during that period,” added Musonye.

“This will also see the Senior Challenge Cup go back to Tanzania in November as per the requirements from the sponsors in the deal that is set for signing on Friday.”

The tournament will be held in Dar es Salaam and Morogoro, a city located 190km west of the capital..

Group A:

Simba SC of Tanzania,Vitalo (Burundi), Etincelles (Rwanda) and Ocean Boys(Zanzibar).

Group B:

Yanga (Tanzania), El Mereikh(Sudan),Bunamwaya(Uganda),and Elman (Somalia).

Group C:

APR of Rwanda, St.George (Ethiopia),Ulinzi Stars(Kenya) and Ports FC from Djibouti.


Saturday June 25

Etincelles v Ocean Boys(kick off 2pm in Dar es salaam
Simba v Vitalo (Dar es salaam kick off 4pm)
APR v Ports(Morogoro at 4pm)

Sunday June 26

-Yanga v Meriekh(Dar es salaam 4pm)

Monday June 27

Bunamwaya v Elman(Dar es salaam 4pm) Ulinzi Stars St.George(Morogoro 4pm).

Tuesday June 28

Etincelles v Vitalo(Dar es salaam 2pm)
Ocean Boys v Simba(Dar es salaam Dar 4pm)
El Mereikh v Elman(Dar es salaam 2pm).

Wednesday June 29

Bunamwaya v Yanga(Dar es salaam 4pm)
Ulinzi v APR(Morogoro 4pm)

Thursday June 30

St.George v Ports(Morogoro 4pm).

Friday July 1

Vitalo v Ocean Boys(Dar es salaam 2pm)
El Mereikh v Bunamwaya(Dar es salaam 4pm),
Ports v Ulinzi Stars(Morogoro 2pm)
Etincelles v Simba(Dar es salaam 2pm)

Saturday July 2

APR v St.George (Morogoro 4pm)

Elman v Yanga (Dar es salaam 4pm).

Sunday July 3rd-Rest Day.

Monday July 4: Quarter finals

Wednesday: Semi finals.

Friday July 8-Rest day

Saturday July 9: Finals & 3rd place play offs