Otsu, Japan – Wilson Kipsang of Kenya won the 66th edition of the Lake Biwa Marathon here today by setting a new record (2:06.13) for the event. Meanwhile, Deriba Merga of Ethiopia finishes second in 2:09.13, followed by Japan’s Hiroyuki Horibata (2:09:25).

After finishing third in Paris in 2010 in his debut clocking 2:07:13, Kipsang won in Frankfurt last fall with 2:04:57. After his 2:06:13 today his three race average of 2:06:08 is seventh best behind Haile Gebrselassie, Tsegaye Kebede, Patrick Makau, Sammy Wanjiru, Geffrey Mutai and Vincent Kipruto.

Leading Results –

1) Wilson Kipsang (Kenya) 2:06:13
2) Deriba Merga (Ethiopia) 2:09:13
3) Hiroyuki Horibata (Japan) 2:09:25
15) Yohannes Abera (Ethiopia) 2:12:44