Mekelle, Tigray – The Tigray Region Youth & Sports Bureau has awarded cash bonuses for 6 of the region’s cyclists who represented Ethiopia at the African Cycling Championship and Tour of Rwanda, during a dinner reception held at Milano Hotel here.

The Ethiopian Cycling Federation awarded the cyclists cash bonuses back in November after they’ve returned from Rwanda.

Tigabu Gebre-Mariam, Solomon Bitew and Stefanos Kebede received 5,000 Birr each, while Goytom Mebratu, Mesgana Kahsay and Yirgalem Wolde-Mariam received 4,000 Birr each for their performance at the Tour of Rwanda and the 10th African Cycling Championships, also held in Rwanda.

Head coach Mehari Duri was also awarded a 5,000 cash bonus for his efforts.

Team Eritrea won both the individual and team titles in both competitions.

10th African Cycling Championships:

In the 33km U23 time trial, Tigabu Gebre-Mariam finished 3rd and won a bronze medal, and the Ethiopian team of Solomon Bitew, Goytom Mebratu, Mesgana Kahsay and Yirgalem Wolde-Mariam, also won bronze medal for finishing 3rd in the 40km team’s category.

Tour of Rwanda:

Ethiopian and Eritrean cyclists dominated the competition occupying 9 out of the top 15 positions.

Final general classification after stage 9:

1 Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eri) Eritrea 29:02:32
2 Teweldemedhin Natnael Berhane (Eri) Eritrea 0:00:56
3 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) South Africa 0:02:11
4 Adil Jelloul (Mar) Morocco 0:02:19
5 Tegabu Gebre-Mariam (Eth) UCI Continental Center 0:03:04
6 Meron Russom (Eri) Eritrea 0:04:41
7 Tesfai Teklit (Eri) Eritrea 0:04:44
8 Adrien Niyonshuti (Rwa) Rwanda 0:04:45
9 Stefanos Gebreselassie (Eth) UCI Continental Center 0:06:03
10 Frekalsi Debesai (Eri) Eritrea 0:07:27
11 Abdelati Saadoune (Mar) Morocco 0:11:58
12 Julien Schick (Fra) C.A. Castelsarrasin 0:15:41
13 Nathan Byukusenge (Rwa) Rwanda 0:21:25
14 Sollomon Bitew (Eth) UCI Continental Center 0:23:15
15 Araya Medhin Dawit Haile (Eri) Eritrea 0:27:19