Monte-Carlo – IAAF has announced the five female finalists for the 2010 World Athlete of the Year Award here today. Unfortunately, Meseret Defar of Ethiopia is not among the finalists.

The five finalists are: Veronica Campbell-Brown(Jamaica), Milcah Chemos Cheywa (Kenya), Jessica Ennis (Great Britain), Allyson Felix (USA) and Blanka Vlasic (Croatia)

The winners of the 2010 World Athlete of the Year Awards will be announced live, on stage, during the 2010 World Athletics Gala, which will take place in Monaco, on 21 November 2010.

The IAAF Family votes opened on Tuesday 19 October, following the conclusion of the IAAF / SINOPEC World Half Marathon Championships, and closed on Sunday 7 November at midnight CET.

The IAAF Family vote consisted of a list of 1786 recipients including IAAF & IAF Council Members, IAAF Member Federations, IAAF Committee & Commission Members, IAAF Meeting Directors, IAAF Ambassadors, Leading Athletes, Athletes’ Representatives, IAAF Staff Members and selected members of the International Press.