Kigali, Rwanda – St. George FC of Ethiopia held home side Rayon Sports of Rwanda to a 2-2 draw in their Group B opener of the 2010 Cecafa/Kagame Club Championshiphere yesterday. In the day’s other match, TP Mazembe of the DR Congo trashed Telkom of Djibouti 8-0 in Group A match.

St. George returning to big time football following a two-year Fifa ban of their country scored two penalties through Salahadin Said in the seventh and 62nd minutes. Rayon was buoyed by goals from Sina Jerome and Franck Makengo in the 22nd and 47th minutes respectively.

St. George’s Jean Claude Amougo was the Man of the Match. Their next match will be on Thursday against Mafunzo FC of Zanzibar

The tournament kicked off on Saturday when Rwanda’s league champion APR opened their campaign with a hard earned 2-1 win against Burundian champions Vital’O at Amahoro stadium here on Saturday.

Group A: APR (Rwanda), TP Mazembe (DR Congo), Vital’O (Burundi) and Telkom (Djibouti)

Group B*: Rayon Club (Rwanda), St. George FC (Ethiopia) and Mafunzo (Zanzibar).

Group C: Atraco (Rwanda), Simba (Tanzania), URA (Uganda) and SOFAPAKA (Kenya)

*Heartland of Nigeria, who were expected to take part as an invitee team, withdrew from the competition at the last minute to concentrate on their domestic league.

The top 3 teams from Group A & C plus the top two from Group B will qualify for th Quarter-Finals.

Saturday- May 15, 2010 
APR 2-1 Vital’O A 
Sunday- May 16, 2010 
TP Mazembe 8-0 Telkom 
Rayon 2-2 St George 
Monday – May 17, 2010

 URA 3-0 Sofapaka 

 Atraco 1-2 Simba
Tue 18-5-10 6 Vital’O v Mazembe  A Nyamirambo 2.00Pm
Tue 18-5-10 7 Telkom v APR  A Nyamirambo 4.00Pm
Wed19-5-10 8 Simba v Sofapaka C Nyamirambo 2.00Pm
Wed19-5-10 9 URA v Atraco C Nyamirambo 4.00Pm
Thu 20-5-10 10 St. George Mafunzo B Nyamirambo 2.00Pm
Thu 20-5-10 11 Telkom v Vital’O A Nyamirambo 4.00Pm
Fri  21-5-10 12 URA v Simba C Nyamirambo 2.00Pm
Fri  21-5-10 13 Sofapaka v Atraco C Nyamirambo 4.00Pm
Sat  22-5-10 14 Mafunzo v Rayon B Amahoro 3.00Pm
Sat  22-5-10 15 APR Vs Mazembe A Amahoro 5.00Pm
Sun 23-5-10  REST DAY   
Mon 24-5-10 16 A1 Vs C3.  Amahoro TBD
Mon 24-5-10 17 C1 Vs B2   Amahoro TBD
Tue 25-5-10 18 B1 Vs A3  Amahoro TBD
Tue 25-5-10 19 C2 Vs A2  Amahoro TBD
Wed 26-5-10 20 Winner 16 Vs Winner 17  Amahoro 5.00Pm
Thur 27-5-10 21 Winner 18 Vs Winner 19  Amahoro 5.00Pm
Fri 28-5-10  REST DAY   
Third Place Play off / Finals   
Sat 29-5-10 25 Loser 20 Vs Loser 21  Amahoro 3.00Pm
Sat 29-5-10 26 Winner 20 Vs Winner 21  Amahoro 5.00Pm

 The winner will pocket $30,000 while first and second runners-up will walk away with $20,000 and $10,000 respectively.